Bored with same ol’ same ol’ breaky? Try asparagus wraps!

Tortilla filled with swiss cheese, asparagus spears, turkey bacon, sauteed mushrooms and then grilledHave you ever woken  up, been hungry and looked at the usual suspects for breakfast in boredom? Eggs and bacon getting old? Is cereal dull and lifeless? Bagels just aren’t doing it for you anymore? I found myself in this state today and was really aching  for  something different. I wanted something bright and vibrant and full of flavour  and nutrition, but I really didn’t want another omelet. Don’t get me wrong; I love omelets! But I’ve had  so many recently that they have  ceased to be a “treat” for me, which is so very sad.

I considered what I had in the fridge and pantry that might need to get eaten up quickly as I’m the type of person who doesn’t mind having breakfast for dinner and dinner for breakfast. Heck, I’ve even had cold, leftover Chinese food in the morning because, gosh darn it, that’s what sounded palatable at  the time!

Recently, I asked my hubby to pick up some asparagus for  us. He came home with  not one, not two, but three bunches. That’s a lot of asparagus! We had some last night, steamed up in my Tupperware steamer and then tossed with a bit of balsamic vinaigrette and feta cheese.  But that only used one bunch. So I considered: was there any way I could use it in our breakfast today that didn’t involve eggs? Sure,  I  know all about asparagus omelets (again, not wanting one) and frittatas, but I’ve become disillusioned with eggs  as of late and have been pulling away from them, and my hubby doesn’t like eggs, so what could I make that we’d both eat?

A breakfast commercial for a fast food joint  flashed  on the screen about their latest and greatest breakfast burritos and that seemed to spark the idea: what about asparagus wraps? I had some leftover, large flour tortillas (spinach flavour) I could use. I also had light Swiss cheese (slices), turkey bacon that had to get used up soon, and half a pint of baby button mushrooms. So, I went to work!

Using the  Tupperware steamer in the microwave again, I steamed up another bunch of asparagus (9 minutes on high). While that cooked, I quickly fried up some turkey bacon (slices were cut in half) on  my grill pan,  then set these aside. In a small saute pan, I melted some butter and quickly sauteed the washed, sliced mushrooms in two batches (it really was a small, mini pan). Once these were all done, I cut the Swiss  slices in halves so they’d fit in the tortilla better and quickly nuked the tortillas so they could be folded and rolled more easily. The asparagus got a light sprinkling of balsamic vinaigrette dressing, lemon juice, a tiny bit of Kosher salt and freshly cracked black pepper.

Then came the assembly. I kept my grill pan that I used for the turkey bacon warm on low-medium heat and assembled each tortilla in layers in the middle of  the tortilla: cheese, bacon, mushrooms, asparagus (cut in half to fit), bacon and finally more cheese. Then the sides  were  pulled in toward the centre and the whole thing rolled  up. I also placed a little piece (quarter of a sheet) of  cheese near  the seam to act as “glue”. Once I put the rolls on the grill pan, I set them seam-side down first to  melt that cheese just inside the seam, sealing the entire sandwich. This only took a few minutes to get nice grill lines on the seam side, then I carefully rolled them over to grill the other side. This was just enough to melt the cheese inside and bind everything together so nicely.

When I was about to serve them, I cut them in the middle on the diagonal for a nice presentation (see image above). I didn’t have any dipping sauce for it — in truth, my hubby isn’t too fond of most dipping sauces — but I could this served with a little salsa and/or sour cream, or even a nice ranch or Caesar dressing. In truth, we enjoyed them without a dressing.

What I might have  done with mine as well (in the future) is add chopped fresh tomato and/or even onions (raw or sauteed).

Coupled with a tall glass of homemade lemon iced tea, this was one of  the better breakfasts I’ve had in a while. It was tasty and light, and fairly well-balanced! (All four food groups were contained within: meat, veggies, dairy and grains.) I could see different cheese used and regular bacon or even shaved deli turkey or sliced up left-over chicken breast meat from dinner the night before.

2 thoughts on “Bored with same ol’ same ol’ breaky? Try asparagus wraps!

Leave a Reply

