Trying something new: linguini with peanut sauce

Strips of teriyaki chicken lean against a bed of long whole wheat noodles tossed with peanut butter sauce, peas and scallionsI’ve actually written an article on the 3Girls.ca site about the Vermont Food and Garden’s Linguini with Peanut Sauce recipe already but loved it  so much that I felt the need to write about it here too. Last week, I was looking for something different. I looked in my cupboards and fridge, seeing the staples I had in stock and thinking, “I don’t want [fill in the blank here] again…” Is it possible? A plethora of  possibilities were laid out before me, and yet they all seemed so ho-hum. Don’t get me wrong; I love spaghetti and meatballs, Shepherd’s pie, and other “old standbys”.  So does my husband!

But I had a hankering for something new. I wanted pasta, but I didn’t want pesto sauce, cheese or tomato sauce. What else was there?

Admittedly, I’m not exactly well-versed in Asian food. Specifically, I’ve never had Thai food before. I’ve heard of it. I know I have plenty of friends and colleagues who love Thai dishes and they regale me with some truly tempting, mouth-watering stories — but I’ve never had any myself. So I didn’t even think of that as an angle to attack my noodles from. Poking around in my favourite search engine, I finally stumbled across the already-mentioned recipe and must say I was intrigued.

Needless to say, this is the recipe I went with. You can read the 3Girls.ca article to see how it all went in more detail, but I will tell you that I thoroughly enjoyed it and have  enough peanut  sauce to make at least another 2-3 batches! I stir-fried some strips of chicken breast meat in teriyaki sauce, lemon juice and garlic and had an instant hit with the hubby.

My point to all of this? First, I highly recommend checking out this recipe. Keep in mind that I’ve never had Thai food and specifically never had peanut sauce before. If  you’re more well-versed  in such things, be sure to play around with this recipe to adjust it to your own tastes and preferences.

Second, I recommend that if  you’re bored with your “old standbys” or you’re just looking to expand your culinary horizons, to poke around in your recipe books, toss in your staple  ingredients into your own favourite search engine, or even chat with a few friends to see what they like. Here’s another thought: why not start a recipe-sharing circle on your favourite social networking site, via email, or  even do it the old-fashioned way and have a pot-luck meal with some close friends/family, having each cook bring copies of their recipes to share with each other for a good old-fashioned recipe swap! When you’re bored with the “usual suspects”, nothing breathes some life into your recipe book than sharing with others.

Leave a Reply

