Pistachios — not just for snacks anymore?

Spaghetti with pistachio nuts, pesto, red peppers & fresh tomato.Tonight, I wanted something different. I wanted pasta, but not the usual ‘red or white’ sauce. In fact, I had Alfredo cheese tortellini on the weekend, so I really didn’t want more of the same. I recalled that I had some basil pesto in the cupboard and started rummaging around the kitchen. Stumbling across an unopened bag of pistachio nuts, I went into the living room to ponder the possibilities and have a little snack.

That’s when I got distracted by tv.  Before I knew it,  I had shelled the entire bag and only eaten a couple of the nuts. I could save most of them for snacks for the rest  of the week, but I really wanted to find something creative to do with them. I recalled that pesto sauce is made with oil,  herbs and chopped nuts  (usually pine nuts), so I decided I would use the jarred pesto, but I’d also chop up some of the pistachios and put  them  to good use! I also dredged up some onion, minced garlic, a red pepper, green onion that needed using up and a fresh tomato. I topped the whole thing  off with the green onion, chopped fresh tomato and a few French’s fried onions.

Leave a Reply

