Bacon ‘n’ Eggers: homemade breakfast sammies

Two identical sandwiches made from English muffins, filled with bacon, fried eggs, cheese and tomato slicesI’ve had quite a few breakfast sandwiches in my day but lately I’ve found most to be rather tasteless, I hate to say. Unsure if it’s something in the recipes which has changed or in my own sense of taste, I’ve started to consider other options than buying them at fast food restaurants. Missing them, however, I considered making breakfast sandwiches of my own. In truth, I used to make them when I was younger and don’t recall why I stopped.

The things that I find most fast food breakfast sandwiches to miss are:

  • enough cheese
  • a vegetable component
  • as mentioned, flavour

From experience, I know not to overload my sandwiches with cheese, but I find that many places only put half a slice on. I like to put a full slice; half beneath the egg and one on top of the egg. What type of cheese you use will definitely change the flavour of the sandwich but I recommend something with a bit of a sharper flavour, like cheddar or Monterey Jack, to stand up to the other flavours. I used regular Kraft cheese slices this time around because it melts really well.

Admittedly, many versions I’ve had only have half a strip of bacon. I like 2-3 half-strips of bacon on mine, otherwise you lose that bacon flavour in he bread of the English muffin.

When cooking my egg,  I often will sprinkle it with a bit of garlic or onion powder and some freshly cracked black pepper, adding some flavour. Fresh herbs would also go well with this!

And finally, I like to  top my sandwiches with a nice slice of fresh tomato, to help round it out and make it more well-balanced. Often, I’ll eat this with a glass of orange juice  or slices of orange  on the side, again for balance.

It’s really that easy. I simply cook up the half-strips of bacon before I get going on the eggs. When I finally fry the eggs, I break the yolk right away so that it hard-cooks, so that I don’t have too messy of a sandwich (this is completely optional). And as soon as the eggs go down, I pop the English muffins in the toaster. Buttering the English muffins isn’t necessary but I think it’s more of a personal preference. And the only thing that I add a pinch of salt to are  the tomato slices — again, optional. There’s honestly enough salt in the bacon to not really need additional salt.

Alternately, I’ve also taken sausage meat, balled it up and then flattened it really thinly to be able to quick-fry it in lieu of bacon.

Do you make your own breakfast sammies? How do you do them? Let me know! I’m always open to new ideas.

Leave a Reply

