Fries & Gravy – Comfort Food of the Gods

A close-up on a plate of homemade French fries with gravy drizzled over top of them.When I visited some friends in Texas a few years back, they looked at me funny when I said I enjoyed gravy on my fries. In fact, they looked at me as though I had three heads! Being a Canadian girl, I was raised to love certain foods, and while I’m not certain how Nation-wide fries and gravy might be, I know that it’s a pretty popular dish in my neck of the woods.

Comfort. Food. Two words which describe how I feel about a good-sized plate of fries and gravy. Sure, it’s one of those ‘heart attack on a plate’ type of things. It’s one of those things that I also don’t have very often because of that.

And heck, if you add cheese curds and make me a bowl of Poutine — you will be my new best friend. Muwahah!

Tonight, I peeled and sliced up some potatoes, double-fried them (yes, fry them once, drain them and fry them again to get crispy fries), then slathered them with gravy (Club House low-sodium turkey packaged mix). That was my dinner.

Was it balanced? Good gods, no. Was it healthy? Nuh uh, no way. Was it tasty and satisfying and worth it? Hell yes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

