No eggs? Have leftovers for breakfast!

A plate with oregano parmesan potato medallions made from leftover baked potato, slices of bacon, an egg cup filled with ketchup, a pile of clementine segments and a glass of orange juice in the background.I woke up this morning and realized I had a problem: I had no eggs. I had planned on trying to make Eggs in a Basket for the first time for myself today, as I only have myself to look after in the way of meals today. (Hubby’s not an egg fan and isn’t fond of the smell of them cooking, so I could have experimented today.)

Well, I lie; I had eggs. But they apparently expired last week and I had no idea. Bummer!

Cereal wasn’t sounding too appealing. Neither was toast. Ooh, French Toast–err, wait, that needs eggs. Hm. Pancakes? I have a vegan recipe I could have used, but it just wasn’t what I was craving. Waffles? I wasn’t craving the super sticky sweetness of waffles and syrup this morning.

So I opened the fridge to see what I had: part of an opened package of bacon that needs to be used, a leftover baked potato which needed to be eaten before it went bad, some grated parmesan cheese, some clementines… even my tomato was just starting to turn. Slim pickings. But then I had a revelation. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 3 slices bacon, halved
  • 1/2 of a large or one whole medium leftover baked potato – sliced into “medallions”
  • dried oregano
  • freshly cracked black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp grated parmesan
  • ketchup
  • clementines, peeled (or some other fruit)

Method

  1. In a large skillet on low-medium heat, melt the butter and heat the oil. Once fully merged and tiny bubbles are just starting to form, add your bacon. Cook it to your preference, then set on a paper-towel lined plate to get rid of some of the grease. You may want to cover with foil to keep warm.
    • Alternately, you could just bake the bacon for 15 mins in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes, in a single layer on a foil-lined baking sheet. Drain on paper towels. If you choose this method, simply use the olive oil and butter to do the next step.
  2. In the same pan, place the medallions of potatoes in a single layer. Lower the heat a bit if the pan is smoking. Sprinkle this side of the potatoes with dried oregano (don’t go overboard!) and pepper to your tastes.
  3. Fry these for a few minutes until the bottoms seem crisp and golden brown, then carefully flip them over to give them the same treatment, only sprinkling oregano on this side (unless you really like pepper).
  4. Place the parmesan in a bowl.
  5. Once the potatoes are done, remove from the pan carefully, draining the oil (you could use a colander, if you’d like, or give them the same treatment as the bacon on a paper towel). But don’t drain too much off of them or the cheese might not stick.
  6. Transfer the drained, still hot potatoes in to the bowl with the cheese and give them a good toss around to evenly coat them. (Alternately, you could just put the potatoes onto your plate and sprinkle some of the parmesan on top).
  7. Serve with bacon, ketchup on the side and your favourite fruit and/or glass of juice (I had orange juice over ice).
Leave a Reply

