How I saved my overcooked chicken

A plate of egg noodles coated in chopped chicken, cheese and sauce, topped with green onions and shredded cheese.So last night, I knew I had several boneless, skinless chicken breasts which needed to be cooked up but I rapidly found myself running out of evening to cook them in. I thought I’d be clever and throw them into the crockpot with some honey-garlic sauce (VH), onions and a can of pineapple, let it on low and wake up in the morning to fantastic chicken.

Boy, was I wrong. Boneless, skinless chicken breasts are not good for the crockpot, because they dry out very easily, despite being drenched in liquid. I didn’t realize this.

Hubby said he’d eat it, but I told him to leave it alone, let me think about it and I’d see if I could salvage it and make it more palatable. I had a few ideas after searching through my cupboards. Here’s how I saved my chicken…

Ingredients

  • 1/2 package of egg noodles, cooked according to package, drained and set aside
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp ground thyme
  • 2 C overcooked chicken, finely chopped
  • 1 jar of vodka tomato sauce (your favourite tomato sauce would do just fine!)
  • 1/2 C light cream (or milk)
  • 1/2 C shredded asiago or parmesan cheese
  • more cheese & finely chopped green onion

Method

  1. In a saucepan or wok, heat butter and oil for a moment over a medium heat, then add the onions. Cook the onions until they begin to turn translucent.
  2. Add the garlic and seasonings, allowing to cook for a minute.
  3. Add the chopped chicken and mix well. Heat through until the chicken is warm and any liquids in the pot have been soaked up by the chicken. Then pour in the jar of sauce and mix thoroughly.
  4. Heat throughout and once the mixture begins to bubble a bit, add the cream, mix well, then fold in the noodles.
  5. Add the cheese, continuing to heat through until the cheese is melted and well-mixed into the entire mixture.
  6. Remove from heat and serve, sprinkling a little extra cheese and chopped green onion on top.
Leave a Reply

