Things to do with pre-roasted chickens from the grocery – Day 1

A plastic container with a cardboard wrap-around handle on it holds a 1 pound pre-roasted chicken, purchased from the grocery store.Let’s face it: it’s too hot to use the oven when it’s the middle of a scorching summer season. Hell, I don’t even enjoy cooking on the stove-top or on the indoor grill in the summer. Anything that gives off heat makes me groan. But some things are necessities. I have a bunch of chicken in the freezer that just isn’t getting cooked because, well, it’s frozen and I don’t want to get the oven baking.

So on a whim, I purchased two of those pre-roasted chickens from the grocery store today.  I usually shop at Metro due to convenience, but most places sell these things. They’re about $10-15 per bird. These ones were $9.99 exactly, so I picked up two. (Also, I have no idea what “Mammoth Barbecue Chicken” means, unless a one-pound bird is super-huge. I have never bought a whole chicken before, so I have no point of reference.)

I decided to buy two, tear them up and see how many different meals we can get out of them (as well as how many dishes — to see how economical this was). Theoretically, these two birds should feed us all week if I play my cards right. Granted, I’m a white-meat gal. I have issues with the dark meat (largely texture-based), so the legs and wings will be going to hubby (and I’m sure he’ll be happy about that!). In other words, forgive me if this is breast meat-centric.

Today’s dinner? Take a peek:

A bowl of the finished product: Roasted chicken & sauteed mushrooms over pesto-slathered spinach & cheese ravioli..

Roasted chicken & sauteed mushrooms over pesto-slathered cheese & spinach ravioli.

Ingredients

  • breast meat from one whole roasted chicken (skin removed), chopped or slicedA package of spinch & cheese ravioli.
  • cheese & spinach ravioli (or ravioli or pasta of your choosing)
  • 1 pint of mushrooms, sliced or chopped
  • 2+ tsp garlic powder
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • pre-bought pesto (or you can feel free to make your own if you have a good recipe for it) — I used basil pesto; amount to your preference

Method

  1. A pot of water boils up some ravioli pasta.

    Prepare the pasta according to the package. The ravioli I buy says it takes 7-9 minutes but I find 5 minutes just about does it for us. We like ours a little firm.

  2. While the pasta is boiling, sautee the mushrooms in the olive oil and butter on medium or medium-low heat. Sprinkle the garlic powder into the olive oil and butter just before you add the mushrooms for a little extra flavour.
  3. A pan of sauteeing mushroom slices.Drain the pasta and pour into a large bowl. Add the cooked mushrooms and the chicken. Add the pesto and maybe a little extra olive oil if you’re finding it difficult to mix the pesto in evenly.
  4. Serve while still warm, sprinkled with a little salt & pepper to taste, if you wish.

It’s that easy. I made up that entire package of pasta and that will feed hubby tonight before work, give me a lunch tomorrow and him a dinner tomorrow as well. In fact, we’ll probably be eating this through till and including Wednesday.

Feel free to halve this. I purposely made up a huge amount of this to carry us through most of the week.

Later this week: quick & easy chicken w/Indian sauces (yes, the same VH bottled stuff I’ve used in the past). I’m all about easy meals in the summer!

Leave a Reply

