PC hors d’oeuvres in review: mozz sticks & spanakopita

A multi-coloured tray holds two dishes. One holds a homemade marinara sauce (a spoon set into it), and the other holds two types of hors d'oeuvres: spanikopita and mini mozzarella sticks.As we did last year, hubby and I stayed in for New Year’s Eve. We actually prefer it because we can stay in our comfy clothes, don’t have to fight with traffic or weather, and don’t have to worry about one of us staying sober to drive home. If we pass out on the couch, who cares? 🙂

Last year, I did a lot of food-prep myself, creating homemade pizza rolls and mozzarella sticks, along with a crockpot butter chicken dinner (which we saved for the next day because we were full on appetizers).

This year, I decided that pre-made hors d’oeuvres was the way to go for a lazy New Year’s Eve!

So, we went with two President’s Choice products this year: PC Mozzarella Sticks and PC Spanakopita (hors d’oeuvres size):

The packaging for President's Choice Mozzarella Sticks.

The mozzarella sticks were pretty good. They’re not very dense, so dipping was a little tricky (you could easily lose half of your stick in the dipping  sauce), so we quickly started using a spoon to put a dollop of sauce onto the stick before eating it.

My biggest complaint about these is that about a third of them popped open and melted together on the baking sheet just before they were done in the oven. Considering I didn’t have to impress anyone, this wasn’t a huge issue for me, though. I don’t know if it’s because they are so much smaller than typical mozzarella sticks or due to the fact that they’re baked, not fried, or if  it was even just the type of breading used on them.

If you don’t care what they look like or that some of them stick together, they might work for you. They were tasty enough, however, and you couldn’t just stop at one!

The packaging for President's Choice Spanakopita (hors d'oeuvres size)

As for the spanakopita, I’m a little  disappointed in this particular choice of hors d’oeuvres and I can’t say for sure if I’d buy them again. Bottom line: I found them to be quite bland. Keep in mind that I’ve had homemade spanakopita and am used to a luscious, tasty filling.

These just felt as though simple things like salt and maybe even pepper were missing. So for some of the thinner pieces, they came off as bland and dry (due to not enough filling in them). The thicker pieces that had a bit more filling than others were better, as they didn’t seem so dry. And after I had eaten a few of them, I got used to the blandness.

So, they weren’t completely inedible, but it made me wish that I had opted for something such as the sausage rolls or cheese pastries.

Over all, I’m glad that we chose to go the easy route this year. It allowed me to fuss a bit more over our actual dinner and the dipping sauce for the mozzarella sticks (homemade marinara sauce — recipe tba).

Leave a Reply

