Homemade marinara sauce

A bowl of homemade marinara sauce sits next to a plate of appetizers.For our New Year’s Eve night in, I realized that I had forgotten to pick up a jar of marinara sauce, so I set out to make my own. I had seen a recipe for marinara sauce a long time ago and remembered it for the most part. Sadly, I no longer remember where I saw it. So I had to wing it. Here’s what I did.

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1 28-oz can of diced tomatoes, pureed
  • 1 medium tomato, peeled, cored and diced
  • 2 Tbsp Diana sauce (I normally would have used sugar to cut the acid and tomato paste to thicken it but didn’t have the paste, so this was my substitution)
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 2 pinches salt

Method

  1. Heat the oil and butter on medium in a saucepan. Add the onions and sauté until soft/translucent.
  2. Add the garlic and sauté for a moment longer.
  3. Add the pureed tomato, fresh tomato, Diana sauce  (or sugar and tomato paste), salt & pepper.
  4. Lower the heat, cover and simmer for about 10 minutes.
  5. Adjust seasoning as necessary.
  6. Allow to cool, cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

NOTE: This could  be used as a cold dipping sauce for things like mozzarella sticks, or warmed up and served over pasta! Yay for dual-purpose sauces!

Leave a Reply

