Low-carb adventures: cauliflower for breakfast!

A baked patty made out of mashed cauliflower topped with a dollop of ketchup.

This endeavour to make healthier meal choices has really opened up a lot of new foods for me. One thing I’ve discovered is that I really enjoy cauliflower. I used to prefer broccoli, but now I’m finding that I prefer cauliflower. I love both, however! But this story is about cauliflower, so let’s focus on that.

Earlier in the week, I had made up a pureed curried cauliflower soup, as well as some garlic/lemon roasted cauliflower for a different meal. They both needed to get used up and I was looking for an alternate to the potato hash I used to make for brunch for hubby and I on the weekends. I still wanted something similar to potatoes and had even considered some kind of potato/tuna patty, so that I wouldn’t get so much potato. You see, I love potatoes, but I know they’re not ‘the best’ food to have a lot of. So I had heard you could mash up cauliflower like potatoes, so I got cracking and ended up experimenting. Here’s what I did…

Ingredients

  • 3 C leftover cauliflower (roasted, flavoured, boiled, whatever)
  • 3 C leftover cauliflower puree/soup  (if you don’t have the soup, try to have 4-5 cups of cauliflower and a cup of skim milk for mashing to make up about 6 cups)
  • 5 slices Maple Leaf Ready Crisp bacon, cooked & chopped (you could use turkey bacon instead — I will be the next time I make these)
  • 1 tsp garlic (1 Tbsp if your leftover cauliflower doesn’t have any garlic added to it already; or adjust to your taste)
  • 1-2 dashes black pepper
  • 1/2 C panko bread crumbs
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • paprika (optional)
  • any other preferred seasonings (such as  curry powder, onion powder, etc. — just remember that the cauliflower really carries flavours well, so add these before adding the panko, eggs, flour, etc. so you can taste the mixture

Method

  1. Over a medium heat, warm up the roasted cauliflower and cauliflower soup/puree until gently bubbling.
  2. Add bacon, garlic powder, black pepper, flour and cheese. Stir until mixed thoroughly and allow to cook a moment longer to cook the flour taste out of the mixture. Remove from heat, mash with a potato masher and allow to cool. (Mixture will be gummy and chunky — that’s ok!)
  3. Preheat oven to 350F.
  4. Lightly spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray. Fill a bowl with lukewarm water (or be prepared to run your tap).
  5. Stir in the eggs and breadcrumbs into the mixture until mixed well.
  6. –> Here comes the messy part! <– With a large wooden spoon, fill a hand with of the mixture. Form gently into a patty shape and place down on the baking sheet. **** The mixture will seem really gooey. Don’t worry! They firm up in the oven! ****
  7. Dip your hands in water between patties, trying to get any mixture off of your hands before you handle the next patty. (This makes it easier to move the patties from your hands to the sheet.)
  8. Do this until you have 12 equal sized patties on the sheet. Wash hands of remaining mixture. Feel free to sprinkle a little paprika on each side as they’re going into the oven for colour.
  9. Bake at 350F for a total of 25 minutes, carefully turning the patties over at the 15-minute mark.
  10. Serve as-is or with a dollop of ketchup.

These were absolutely yummy, if I do say so myself. 🙂

MAKES: 12 patties
SERVING: 1  patty

Calories: 150
Carbs: 14g
Fat: 10g
Protein: 7g
Sodium: 352mg
Sugars: 3g

Leave a Reply

