Low-carb adventures: egg muffins!

A mini quiche made in a muffin pan.Breakfast has never been easy for me. I’m not one who can generally eat as soon as she gets up in the morning. I’ve had issues with feeling ill at the mere thought of eating so soon from waking, so often,  I’m not getting hungry until I’m on my way out the door to work in the morning, or by the time I get there. So, grabbing breakfast on the go is something really important to me.

I’ve been stopping at McDonald’s for McMuffins or Tim Horton’s for bagels, but both are not healthy choices. McD’s  is a no-brainer, but bagels are very high in carbs and sugar. I’ve been trying  to cut back on my breads/grains intake, so bagels are not the way to go. Well, I love omelets but couldn’t think of how to make one very portable until I got thinking about the muffin-sized meatloaves I have made and started poking around the net for some guidance on how to use that method for eggs. Here’s what I ended up doing…

Ingredients

  • 12 eggs
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar
  • 2 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 3 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 2 stalks green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 6 slices turkey bacon, cooked and chopped

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Spray each cup of the 12-muffin tin with non-stick spray.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together the eggs, garlic powder, oregano and pepper.
  4. Sprinkle even amounts of the mushrooms, green onions, turkey bacon and cheese into each of the muffin cups. Fill to maybe 2/3 full.
  5. Carefully pour the egg mixture into the muffin tin’s cups with a ladle, portioning it out evenly among each cup. Fill to about 3/4 full.
  6. Bake for 25-35 minutes until egg has set and tops have started to go slightly golden brown. Don’t overcook!
  7. Remove from oven, let sit for a few minutes, then carefully remove each muffin from the tin.

You may want to use a knife to run around the edge of each muffin to make sure it’s not sticking. Instead of turning the tin upside down to shake them out, I carefully spoon each one out with a large tablespoon, sliding the spoon down between the tin and the  muffin to gently scoop each muffin out. Place  on a cooling tray, then refrigerate for up to 1 week in ziplock baggies to make it easy to grab-and-go!

Makes: 12 muffins
Serving: 1 muffin

Calories: 132
Carbs: 3g
Fat: 10g
Protein: 10g
Sodium: 236mg
Sugars: 1g

Leave a Reply

