Lower-carb / lower-sodium adventures: chili stew

A bowl of chili stewI’m sure that I’ve probably posted my chili/chili stew before somewhere, but let me state for the record that it is not what most people think of when they think of chili. It’s more of a stew or soup with chili seasonings. I throw all kinds of vegetables into it and there are no beans.

But lately, I’ve been watching my sodium intake and carbs, so I’ve been  changing some of my old favourites up, as mentioned in previous posts. For this one, I focused on cutting right back on the sodium. Did you know, for example, that 1/2 a cup of diced tomatoes from a can generally has about 450-500 mg of sodium, but the same amount from a ‘no salt added’ can of tomatoes may only have 20-30 mg? It’s a HUGE difference! It allows you the room to regulate the salt how you’d like it, rather than dealing with all that sodium right from the start.

I managed to get my chili stew to the point of only being about 170 mg of sodium per 1 cup serving, which means I could have two servings if I wanted to! 😉

Here’s what I did:

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground chicken, cooked up and drained
  • 2 large cans of no sodium added diced tomatoes
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 C broccoli, chopped into small florets
  • 1 C white mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 Tbsp barbecue sauce
  • 1 small can tomato juice
  • 1 C water
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 can Green Giant peaches & cream corn niblets

Method

  1. Set your slow-cooker to high.
  2. Put all ingredients into the slow-cooker.
  3. Mix well.
  4. Cover with lid and cook for 4 hours.

Makes: about 13 1-Cup servings
Per serving: 105 calories, 11g carbs, 3g fat, 9g protein, 170mg sodium, 6g sugars

Leave a Reply

