Breakfast comparisons: egg sandwiches

A plate with an English muffin egg sandwich, tomato slices & nectarine slicesHAPPY CANADA DAY!!

I love long weekends such as this, for more than one reason. But one of those reasons is that I love having the time to make myself a decent breakfast. This weekend has been no exception. Saturday, I craved one of my guilty pleasures.

Yes, I have an admission to make: I love McDonald’s breakfast sandwiches. It’s one thing I’ve missed while cutting back and making healthier choices. But I got thinking: why do I have to ‘do without’ when I can make my own? They’re easy, really. All you need is:

  • 1 Weight Watcher’s thin bun (you could also grab a PC Blue Menu whole wheat English muffin or thin bun… whatever is available to you)
  • 1 oz light old cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice reduced sodium turkey bacon (Butterball is the brand I use)
  • 1-2 dashes Mrs. Dash Table Blend

My sandwich’s nutritional value: 305 calories, 23g carbs, 15g fat, 20g protein, 490mg sodium, 1g sugars

McDonald’s Bacon & Egg McMuffin nutritional value: 320 calories, 30g carbs, 15g fat, 16g protein, 740mg sodium, 2g sugars

While the values are pretty darned close, I made a huge score on the sodium difference. 490 vs 740 miligrams is a considerable difference and to me: that’s a WIN!

(McDonald’s posts their menu’s nutritional value on their website (PDF document), which is where I pulled these stats from.)

Leave a Reply

