REVIEW: Irresistibles Chicken Carbonara

A box of frozen food, specifically Chicken Carbonara in the Life Smart line from IrresistiblesI decided recently to buy a few of the “lighter choice” frozen meals to try, as I understand they’ve come a long way since I last tried them.

The first one I bought was Irresistibles Chicken Carbonara in their Life Smart line. They were on sale for $1.88 each if you bought three at a time, so I thought, “Why not?” Normally, I’m leery about these pre-made meals that have chicken in them. The reason: most of these pre-made meals seem to have pre-fab chicken-like meat substances in them. The texture is usually rather disagreeable to me, so I usually avoid these like the plague. But I thought that if the chicken was nasty, I could pick them out and just eat the rest and chalk it up as experience.

I must say that I was pleasantly surprised that the chicken seemed to be real pieces of chicken. They weren’t the best chicken in the world, but they certainly weren’t the worst. I was able to eat them without gagging, which is always a good sign.

The pasta was a decent texture and wasn’t mushy, which is another good sign.

However, I have to say that I would not buy these again because frankly, I found them to be bland. With 410mg of sodium in it, all I could really taste was salt and maybe a bit of garlic. I couldn’t taste bacon, but there were bits of something that I think was supposed to be bacon, but the texture was strange and the flavour was lacking to be able to identify them as bacon.

I have two more in the freezer and will at least finish them off, but I will likely add a bit more seasoning to spruce them up.

And sadly, I wasn’t really satisfied by it. I accompanied it with half of a bagel and three big slices of tomatoes. I suppose if I made up a big salad on the side, it might have been a bit better. But with the high level of sodium, it makes it difficult to even have much else with it without over-loading in sodium. Sure, it’s not  the highest and I’ve even seen some of these lighter frozen meals with as much as 900mg of sodium in them, but it’s still a lot if you need to pair it up with something else to make sure you don’t leave the lunch table still hungry.

Lesson learned. Over all, a less picky person might enjoy it, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. We’ll see how I do with the Weight Watchers Smart Ones meals that I bought.

Leave a Reply

