Barbecue chicken barley soup

A bowl of barbecue chicken barley soup

The summertime isn’t a usual time for soup, I’ll admit, but since I’ve been on this lower carb kick, I’ve been eating a lot of soups and stews. Avoiding too much pasta cuts out a lot of casseroles, right? So I had a pre-cooked barbecued chicken in the fridge from the grocery store. But honestly, I am not a fan of chicken noodle soup. I think I got sick too many times when I was a kid, so I’m just not a fan of one of the best home remedies in the world. I’ll eat it if I’m sick, but I’m not going to eat it “just because”.

So, I thought, why not make something heartier? Why not make something more flavourful? I still had barley in the cupboard and a lot of veggies in the fridge and freezer that could be used up. Why not? Before long, I was saying to myself, “Soup’s on!” I’ll warn that since I don’t use a lot of salt anymore, my soups are getting heavier and heavier in the seasonings department. But don’t worry, it’s worth it, and it’s not as bad as it looks.

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large white onion, cut into large pieces or strips (or diced, if you’d prefer)
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 large celery stalks, sliced or diced
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 4 Tbsp sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp sweet curry powder (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp Mrs. Dash Table  Blend seasoning
  • 1 Tbsp each: black pepper, onion powder, garlic powder
  • 2 packets Stevia (optional, to sweeten it a bit)
  • 1 tsp Chili Pepper paste
  • 1/2 Tbsp poultry seasoning
  • 2.5 boxes (about 10 cups) Imagine Organics low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 ‘pot’ Knorr’s Homestyle chicken stock, reduced sodium
  • 6 Tbsp of your favourite barbecue sauce (I had Heinz Original)
  • 2 cups diced cooked chicken breast
  • 1/2 cup uncooked pearl barley
  • 1.5 cups frozen mixed veggies (carrots, peas, green beans, corn)
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1 cup frozen broccoli
  • 1 tsp VH reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

Method

  1. In a large soup pot over a medium heat, saute onions until they begin to get soft.
  2. Add carrots and celery and cook until they start to soften as well.
  3. Add all the dry seasonings  and the Chili Pepper paste and stir well.
  4. Deglaze with the wine and bring to a simmer.
  5. Add the broth and stock, along with the barbecue sauce and stir well.
  6. Add the barley, veggies, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce and mushrooms and bring to a boil.
  7. Lower heat and simmer for as long as the barley package states.
  8. Remove from heat and serve with a half-sandwich or salad.

Servings: Makes about 20 servings (roughly 1 cup or so).

Nutritional value per serving: 95 calories, 11g carbs, 2g fat, 7g protein, 190mg sodium, 3g sugars

Leave a Reply

