A Review: Black Forest Inn

You Gotta Eat Here at the Black Forest InnRestaurant: Black Forest Inn
Address: 255 King Street East, Hamilton, Ontario
Phone: 905-528-3538
URL: www.blackforestinn.ca

Recently, my mom, hubby and I decided to go out for lunch. It was a chilly, rainy day. We could have gone to any chain restaurant, as we have in the past, but we were all craving something a little different. A few years back, my mom and I had gone to the Black Forest Inn. She had been several times but that was my first visit. I fell in love with the food but hadn’t had the opportunity to go back since then. My husband had never eaten there and was keen to try it based on seeing it on You Gotta Eat Here. So, I made the suggestion: how about lunch at the Black Forest Inn?

We were not disappointed.

Goulash soup in a white ceramic soup ramakin

Goulash soup

Due to the rain, I had gotten quite chilled, so I found myself craving soup. The soup of the day was pea soup (I’m not a fan of pea soup anywhere), so I passed on that and rolled the dice with the goulash soup. I had never had goulash before, let alone goulash soup, so I asked our lovely waitress what it was like. She explained that it was a hearty beef soup with potatoes and a nice gravy-like soup, heavy on the paprika. It  sounded good, hence my choice.

Let me just say that it was one of the best beef soups I’ve ever had. It was hearty, thicker than a regular soup (almost a stew, really). The potatoes were a nice bite size. And the meat had flaked a bit, adding a nice texture to the gravy-broth.

My only disappointment was that there wasn’t more!

It was a really nice soup to dip the complimentary light rye bread that came to the table. This, coupled with the lovely cup of tea that I had ordered really did the trick for warming me up!

My mom had the garden salad and my hubby had the pea soup. He said the soup was “pretty good”.

Pork roast with homefried potatoes and vegetables

Pork roast dinner with homefried potatoes and vegetables

When our main dishes came, our eyes all went very wide. The portions were huge. They didn’t come on plates, but on serving plates, or that’s how it seemed. Since I’ve been more conscious of my food intake, all I could think of was, “How am I going to eat all of this?”

My mom had ordered the pork roast dinner with homefried potatoes and seasonal vegetables. She’s ordered it before and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time around, she said it certainly did not disappoint!

Chicken cordon bleu with homefried potatoes and vegetables

Chicken cordon bleu with homefried potatoes and vegetables

As for hubby and I, we ordered the identical meals: the chicken cordon bleu with homefried potatoes and seasonal vegetables. The chicken was stuffed with Black Forest ham and Swiss Emmenthal cheese and then was breaded. Let me just tell you, it was delicious. We both enjoyed it immensely.

The homefried potatoes were tender and flavourful. The vegetables tasted fresh. And the chicken was moist, tender on the inside and crispy on the outside.

Mom and I each got through half of our lunches and took the rest home for lunch the next day. At about $16 for the chicken dish, that’s not bad for two meals!

If you have been in the Hamilton area and haven’t had a chance to stop by the Black Forest Inn, I highly recommend that you do so as soon as possible. The food is delicious, the servers are very knowledgeable about the menu and service was fantastic. As John Catucci says,  “You gotta eat here!

One thought on “A Review: Black Forest Inn

  1. Pingback: Beef vegetable soup with a kick | cyberpantry

Leave a Reply

