The comfort burger: a Meatloaf Burger

Meatloaf Burger on a whole wheat bun with some Monterrey Jack cheese and lettuce

Sometimes, you just want a burger. Last week, I was craving burgers so much that I almost caved and went to McDonald’s. *shudders* No. No. I’ve sworn off of that place, honest! I think in the last year, I’ve been there only once. Maybe twice. I’m trying to divorce myself from certain places that I know are just  bad news for me.

So I thought: wouldn’t I just feel so much better if I made my own burgers? Sure, they’re still not great for me, but they’ve got to be better than what “The Clown” is serving up.

As a result of this internal struggle, I decided to make my own and to really jazz this burger up. Meatloaf always seems so much more filling than regular burgers and baking them would be far more healthy than frying them.

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs lean ground beef
  • 2 Tbsp favourite barbecue sauce (I used Bullseye Guinness)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 package Stove Top stuffing (any flavour will do), reduce sodium
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 small pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • shredded cheese of your choosing
  • 8 whole wheat buns/kaiser rolls
  • 1/4 cup margarine or butter
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • any favourite hamburger fixings such as tomato, lettuce, pickles, etc.

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, mix the first 8 ingredients (beef to egg) together by hand until everything is mixed evenly.
  4. Divide meat mixture into two parts, then divide each of these into two parts, and once more, divide all of these into two parts until you have 8 equal-sized balls of meat.
  5. Form each ball into a patty and place on the baking sheet, equal distance apart from each other.
  6. Place in oven and bake for 20 minutes.
  7. Meanwhile, mix the margarine and garlic together and spread evenly over all bun halves. Grill these over a low-medium to medium heat on a grill pan. Set bun halves together  on a serving tray.
  8. Flip the burgers at the 20 minute mark.
  9. In the last 5 minutes, sprinkle with your favourite shredded cheese and put back into the oven to melt.
  10. On each bun, assemble your burgers: spread a little bit of your favourite barbecue sauce on the bottom, place the patty on top, then any other fixings you like (lettuce, tomatoes, pickles, etc.).
  11. Serve.
Leave a Reply

