Winter-friendly meal: slowcooker chicken chowder

A bowl of crockpot chicken chowder topped with crumbled bacon.Although it’s a little warmer out today, I know it’s just a matter of time before the winter cold sets in again. Time for soup! But not just any soup: chowder. Now, I know that chowder is more traditionally made with fish, but I’ve made corn chowder more than once. This time, I’m going for a chicken chowder with lots of veggies and I’m trying out Campbell’s Stock First (TM) Cream stock. I got two boxes to give them a try. Earlier this weekend, I made a mac and cheese with one of the boxes (and it was pretty tasty!). So, today, I used the second box to make the chowder.

I will warn: this is not that thick, gloopy type of chowder that is more traditional. This is a thinner broth. If you prefer a thicker broth, you might want to switch to cream instead of skim milk. I’ve heard of some folks who make it with heavy whipping cream. I might consider using two boxes of the cream stock next time, cutting out the milk and sour cream entirely. I just used what I had on hand.

Here’s what I did…

Ingredients

List 1

  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 3 celery stalks, chopped
  • 3 large carrots, chopped into “coins” (or cubed)
  • 3 large potatoes (I used red potatoes), peeled, washed and cubed
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 Tbsp onion powder
  • 1 Tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 Tbsp dried sage
  • 1 Tbsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 1 box Campbell’s low sodium chicken stock (4 cups)
  • 1 pot Knorr’s low sodium Homestyle chicken stock
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 3 uncooked chicken breasts
  • 1 can corn niblets (I used peaches & cream)

List 2

  • 1 box Campbell’s Stock First (TM) Cream stock
  • 1 cup low fat sour cream
  • bacon bits / crumbled cooked bacon (garnish)
  • French’s fried onions (garnish)

 Method

This is super easy, I promise! If you pre-chop  everything the day before or earlier in the day, it makes it go even faster.

Set your crockpot on high (or low). Add everything from List 1 in this order: your vegetables first then seasonings…

Chopped onions, carrots, celery, potatoes & garlic in a crockpot.

Chopped veggies and spices in a crockpot.

…then chicken…

Veggies, spices and seasoned chicken in a crockpot.

…and finally the canned corn.

Crockpot chowder nearly ready to go. Veggies, spices, chicken and corn on top with broth poured in.

Cook for 4 hours (or 6 if on low).

Remove the chicken breasts and shred with a fork. With an immersion blender, partially blend the soup, leaving lots of chunks. Add the chicken to the crockpot again.

Stir in the cream stock and sour cream.

Cook for another 15 minutes.

Serve, garnishing with bacon & fried onions if you so desire.

That’s it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

