(Not Your Grandma’s) Chicken (or Turkey) Salad Sammy

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/247/20361741/files/2014/12/img_1037.jpg

With Christmas festivities behind us, I’ll admit now that I’m feeling rather blaaaaaaah. All that rich food, things that I don’t normally eat, has wreaked havoc on my body. I need to get back on-program. Sure, tonight, we’ve got an evening of filo and puff-pasty hors d’oeuvres, wine and junk food, but that doesn’t mean I can’t eat well prior to that and follow up with that in the new year.

Last night, we swung by the grocery store to pick up food for the next week and food for tonight’s festivities. Sure, hubby and the kitties and I are staying in, but we’ve got Season 3 of The Walking Dead sitting here, as well as Thor 2 — neither of which we’ve seen yet, so we’re going to have a fantastic night of superheroes and zombehs! 🙂

Where was I? Oh yes, food. So I picked up some of the usual suspects such as mini spanikopitas and sausage roll bites, but we also picked up a few of the Presidents Choice line of finger foods, which I will probably write up a review for later. But then I thought, “What? Are we going to eat hors d’oeuvres for days??” So I grabbed an econo-pack of ground beef and the fixings for tacos, as well as two pre-cooked chickens and some fresh veggies and bread from the bakery section.

So when I wanted breakfast (brunch at this hour, I guess?) I stared at the options and considered what would be a good energy booster without anything too heavy. Then it hit me: chicken salad sandwich!! Now, I was never a big fan of chicken salad sandwiches when I was a kid. Everyone tended to make them with chicken and mayo and not much else. It just tasted like mayo-covered goopy stuff to me. So I figured, why not add some texture and flavour?

Here’s what I did…

I pulled the following out of the fridge:

  • one of the chickens
  • one celery stalk (nice and fresh and crisp!)
  • mayo (I use Hellman’s 1/2 fat mayo)
  • iceberg lettuce

From the cupboard, I grabbed:

  • raisins
  • walnut halves (about a small handful)
  • slivered almonds (small handful)
  • two slices of the bakery bread (this was a nice cheese/herb bread)

I took one half of the chicken breast (so one side) and cubed it up and put it into a bowl. Then I chopped up the walnuts and added these to the bowl, along with the slivered almonds (I didn’t bother chopping these). I added a bit more than 1/4 cup of raisins to the bowl. Then I chopped up the stalk of celery and added that to the mix and finally, mixed it all up with mayo (to the consistency I preferred).

Voila! I laid a bed of lettuce on one of the slices of bread to keep the bottom piece from getting soggy, then took about 1/4 of the mixture and spread it onto the lettuce and topped this off with the other piece of bread. That’s it. You could add sliced tomatoes if you want or add whatever you like to the mixture. You could add grated carrot to the mix or just about anything. You can add salt and pepper or other seasonings if you wish but I found it was really good without seasoning. I could really taste all the ingredients in the mixture.

I served mine with some fresh strawberries and boy, what a treat. I feel very satisfied and energized. Give it a try! Or if you still have some leftover turkey, make it a turkey salad sandwich. Or do away with the bread and make a wrap or add the mixture to the top of a green salad. The possibilities are endless. No more boring chicken salad of my childhood — exciting, crunchy and soft… YUM.

Leave a Reply

